FLY AWAY

As I opened the gate,

I heard a noise,

In the bush nearby.

I stopped and looked.

I found a little bird scuffle,

Between the fence and the bush.

I picked it up and

Brought it home.

The cute little bird was beautiful,

With green feathers, a blue neck

And a red patch on its head.

I tried to feed it,

But it looked sad.

It got hurt,

In one of its wings

And one of its legs.

I thought of putting it

In a cage and

Watching it everyday.

But then, I decided.

Little bird, fly away.

 

[Published in ‘melange’, the Sunday supplement of ‘The Sentinel’ on 11 July 2010]

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

